Dr. Ioannis (Yannis) Miaoulis

Ioannis Miaoulis

Ioannis Miaoulis, Ph.D.

President and Director

Museum of Science, Boston

Originally from Greece, Dr. Ioannis (Yannis) Miaoulis came to the Museum of Science, Boston in 2003 after a distinguished association with Tufts University. There, he was Dean of the School of Engineering, Associate Provost, Interim Dean of the University’s Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, and Professor of Mechanical Engineering.

In addition to helping Tufts raise $100 million for its engineering school, Miaoulis greatly increased the number of female students and faculty, designed collaborative programs with industry, and more than doubled research initiatives. At Tufts, he created courses based on students’ and his own passions for fishing and cooking: a fluid mechanics course from the fish’s point of view and Gourmet Engineering, where students cook in a test kitchen, explore heat transfer, and eat their experiments.

An innovative educator with a passion for science and engineering, Miaoulis championed the introduction of engineering into the Massachusetts science and technology public school curriculum in 2001, making the Commonwealth first in the nation to develop a K-12 statewide curriculum framework and assessments for technology/engineering. He has positioned the Museum of Science — one of the world’s largest science centers and New England’s most attended cultural institution — to take the lead in bringing interested parties in government, industry, and education together to advance the goal of educating a scientifically and technologically literate citizenry.

A frequent speaker on science and technology literacy, Miaoulis has testified before the U.S. Senate and House committees and served as keynote speaker at education reform conferences worldwide. He built support for the first Engineering Education for Innovation Act, which was crafted by the NCTL and introduced in both chambers of Congress in 2010 and 2011, and for the Educating Tomorrow’s Engineers Act in 2013 and 2015. He also championed the STEM provisions of the Every Student Succeeds Act, adopted by Congress and signed by President Obama in 2015.